Favourite Read of the Year: The Rook

It’s almost the end of 2013!

I actually find it quite difficult to believe how fast this year has gone, and it’s been another fantastic one! It’s also been a year full of good books, some of them have been amazing. There are a lot of amazing tales out there and it’s always really satisfying when you open a book up and you know that it’s going to be great.

For instance, near the beginning of the year I discovered Wool, such a brilliant story and it feels like the tale has been with me for a long time, which meant it came as a shock to look back on my Goodreads account and realise it was in April this year that I finished it.

A few months later I was lucky enough to be given the Barnes and Noble Classic edition of Peter Pan for my birthday. As much as I loved Wool it was this story which really grabbed me by the hand and dragged me along to witness the adventure. I fell in love with the story telling and the characters and everything about the book. Although Peter Pan’s story is well known I couldn’t help but be caught up in it all.

However, as much as I adored the previous two books, there is only one that I can crown my favourite read of the year and that has to be The Rook. I haven’t written about it on here before, so for those who don’t know The Rook is set in England and focuses on a covert operation called the Checquy. The Checquy is a group of individuals that work to protect the British Isles from supernatural threats using their own supernatural powers. Of course it is all top-secret and hardly anyone knows of its existence.

The way that the story is told is actually brilliant. The main character, Rook Thomas, is attacked and as a result suffers from amnesia, but instead of being all alone she is in fact guided by her former self via a huge bunch of letters and notes. To help her come to terms with this, the amnesia-riddled Thomas refers to her former self as the ‘other Thomas’, and to make things easier here I think I’ll follow suit.

The other Thomas had been warned of the attack, told where she would forget everything but never how long she had left or who would be responsible. In order to prepare she wrote the letters and notes and prepared a safe house, as well as creating an escape route in case Rook Thomas decided she wanted no part of her life (the Checquy is notoriously difficult to escape from).

Anyway, after initially deciding to run away Rook Thomas discovers her ability to hurt people with a simple touch, which subsequently intrigues her and she finds herself thrown into the middle of a conspiracy, and in the unusual position of pretending to be herself.

The adventure that ensues proves to be engrossing and edge-of-your-seat stuff. It’s amazingly thought out and the letters from the other Thomas become a sort of treat. Not only do they break up the story and give some background information, but the manner in which they’re written stops them from being tedious and you actually find yourself sympathising with her, even though she’s technically still alive, it fells like she eventually dies. As well as this the writing is incredibly witty.

I looked forward to any spare time I had so that I could spend it curled up on the sofa with my nose buried in this book. I cannot wait for the next book (I’m hoping there is one) and while a sequel will have a lot to live up to, I’m sure it’ll reach those high expectations.

The Rook is my book of the year, I would love to hear what yours is.

Leave a Reply

