Any One Book #16

Once again I must apologise for being late and having to skip the vote, but oh well, at least there will be a book for this month!

I’ve chosen George R.R. Martin’s A Dance With Dragons 2: After the Feast. I’ve decided I want to get this final hurdle out of the way. I have, at the moment, a bit of an up down relationship with these books. The first three were amazing, absolutely mind-blowing, but then along came the fourth which was just terrible and the beginning of the fifth was boring. I have, rather unfortunately, uncovered some spoilers which have told me a couple of things that happen in this instalment and they’re actually something I’ve been looking forward to.

So it is with some excitement, but also some trepidation that I relieve the bookshelf of this instalment. I look forward once again to the tale of Tyrion and Arya and Jon, but less forward to Dany. Although she is a favourite character of mine, I hugely dislike the stagnation in her story. The charm about her was her drive to take Westeros back, not this stubborness to rule a land that has already rejected her. I understand why she decided to stay there, but it’s a bit much now, she’s hardly done anything and her story was the best!

I don’t actually hold out much hope for it ending in this book, however, the other people’s tales are getting far more interesting and considering what I know, I can’t wait to see how it comes about. I just hope Martin has managed to lay off the needless food and travel, god how those scenes grate on me, why on earth would we actually give a damn about the endless feasts and the mountains of food. It brings absolutely nothing to the book and just adds to the boredom.

I think it’s fair to say that what I am hoping for most with this book is an actual story and the return to plot. I want to return to that feeling of awe that overcame me every time I finished a chapter or something completely unexpected happened. I miss that feeling and I’m hoping that it will be instilled within me once again.

Although I haven’t exactly given it a glowing review I do think it could actually be good, it is after all (originally) the second half of a book, and if that’s anything to go by then it has to be full of all the action and character development.

Any way, I will let you know how it goes and hopefully I’ll finish this one in time!

 

2 responses to “Any One Book #16

Leave a Reply

