Any One Book #15

I’m a bit late it posting this, you can blame NaNoWriMo for that!

Anyway, the votes are in and counted and I can reveal that the winner is Dust by Hugh Howey. Poor Cujo didn’t get a single one. Thank you to everyone who voted, it’s very much appreciated.

I discovered the first in this series earlier this year. After fighting against and losing to the temptation to buy it, Wool became one of my favourite books of the year. It was outrageously imaginative yet at the same time oddly  believable. I finished the book wanting more, but luckily the second instalment, Shift, came out only days afterwards.

Shift was just as excellent and addictive as it’s predecessor and provided an entire background to the events that took place in the first book. It expanded the world and although the main character from Wool, Jules, did not really feature, I could forgive it because the switch was necessary.

And now Dust is out and with the way things were left in the last book I think it promises a very exciting and explosive conclusion. Juliette is now mayor of the silo because of her miraculous return from the cleaning but the people who gave her this job are now beginning to dissent. Some don’t even believe that she went outside. Yet she is determined to save her friend Jimmy and is planning on digging her way through, despite it being a very unpopular idea.

Yes, that sounds a little vague, but I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone who has yet to read the series. The description above has more than enough spoilers for my liking. I look forward to reading this book. Yet, at the same time I’m dreading it. It’s the final one in tbe series, which means anything can happen and once I turn that final page it will be goodbye to those characters.

As usual, feel free to read along. I would love to discuss this book with someone!

Leave a Reply

