NaNoWriMo

….Or National Novel Writing Month, whichever you prefer. It starts this Friday and I’m actually, finally, going to be taking part.

Every year for the past few years I kept saying ‘oh yeah, I’m going to do NaNoWriMo this year’ and then never actually got round to signing up. But this year I’ve actually done it and I’m eagerly anticipating 1 November. I made the decision a while ago (I would have told you sooner but I’ve been doing work experience at Celador Radio, which owns Jack FM and The Breeze) kind of on a whim. 

Just in case anyone reading doesn’t know what NaNoWriMo is, it’s a month in which you write a novel. It takes place every November and the aim is to reach 50,000 words or more. It’s gotten bigger and better every year and if you have ever wanted to write a novel you should probably sign up (if you’re not busy that is).

I was reading through some of the information on the website the other day and was pleasantly surprised to discover that Hugh Howey wrote Wool as part of the event (Wool and its sequel Shift are my favourite literary discoveries of the year, they’re amazing books).

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time you’ll know that all I want to do is write and publish books, but due to other commitments I haven’t really had much time to do any. So this is why I’m taking part this year. I have some spare time before I start my new job in January so I’m going to utilise it to get back on track with what I really want to do.

If you’re taking part in NaNoWriMo this year let me know! I’d love to hear your thoughts about it.

6 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  • Rachel

    Wool was GREAT. The whole series was. The fact that he wrote it for NaNoWriMo inspires me so much!

    • Summer Leigh Grant

      I love Wool so much, such a brilliant story. I haven’t read Dust yet though. Are you taking part in NaNoWriMo this year?

      • Rachel

        Yeah! Even if I could write something half as good as Wool, I’d be happy.

        Have you started writing yet? Can I get a teaser of your story?!

    • Summer Leigh Grant

      I started this morning, what about you? Haha, I can try a give you a teaser, but I’m not very good at blurbs.

      It’s a fantasy based around the legend of the ravens in the Tower of London and is set in the 1670s. Magic is disappearing from the land and it’s the responsibility of the royal family to save it. It follows Mary Stewart as she tries to keep magic in the world and stop the prophecy of the ravens from coming true.

      Hopefully that makes sense! What is yours about? My username on the website is SummerLGrant 🙂

      • Rachel

        I’l find you on there!

        And I can always go for a good fantasy novel! The Chronicles of Narnia were my favorites when I was young, but really good fantasy is difficult to come by.

        Mine is horror, about a guy who starts having terrible nightmares after he gets heart surgery. It takes place in 2027, so a few years in the future.

        This month will be crazy fun!!

    • Summer Leigh Grant

      Excellent, I’m starting to get into horror books lately! I look forward to hearing more about yours. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

