Voting Round Two

After running it last month I’ve decided to keep going with the voting for Any One Book….Although I appear to have started reading one of last month’s entries any way (The Rook, it’s quite clever)!

Again, I’m going to list three books below with their blurb and add a poll at the bottom so you can vote for which one you want to be next month’s Any One Book. Hopefully you enjoy the selection I am putting before you.

1: Carrie by Stephen King

Carrie

I have only ever read one Stephen King book and that was Misery. I loved it so much that for a while (about three years) I kept telling myself I would pick up more of his books and read them. Well, I did and for several months Carrie has been sitting on my bookshelf (along with another book, which happens to be the next one on the list). Now, I really hate horror films. I don’t like to watch anything remotely scary, yet for some reason I really want to read horror books. So, I thought, what better place to start than the master of horror.

Carrie White has a gift – the gift of telekinesis.

To be invited to Prom Night by Tommy Ross is a dream come true for Carrie – the first step towards social acceptance by her high school colleagues.

But events will take a decidedly macabre turn on that horrifying and endless night as she is forced to exercise her terrible gift on the town that mocks and loathes her.

Sounds like a good’un to me, but then most of his books do. Misery was sufficiently creepy, but I think this one could probably out do that.

2: Cujo by Stephen King

Cujo

And  here is the book that has been waiting patiently alongside Carrie. They’re probably both really relieved to be off of the bookcase, tucked away in the hall. As with Carrie, I’ve often heard of Cujo and have a rough idea of what it’s about, but actually have no detailed knowledge of the story itself. the problem with this one though is that I really love dogs.

Once upon a time, not so long ago, a monster came to the small town of Castle Rock, Maine… He was not a werewolf, vampire, ghoul, or unnameable  creature from the enchanted forest or snow wastes; he was only a cop…

Cujo is a huge Saint Bernard dog, the best friend Brett Camber has ever had. Then one day Cujo chases a rabbit into a bolt-hole. Except it isn’t a rabbit warren any more. It is a cave inhabited by rabid bats.

And Cujo falls sick. Very sick. And the gentle giant who once protected the family becomes a vortex of horror inexorably drawing in all the people around him…

Well this sounds extremely depressing but intriguing. I have a feeling that once I’ve read it I won’t be able to entirely trust dogs again.

3: Dust by Hugh Howey

Dust

The third space was initially going to  be taken up by The Shining (yes another Stephen King book), but Dust came out on Thursday and I decided to put it up to the vote. Now, Dust is the final instalment in the Wool trilogy written by Hugh Howey (who happened to write the story for NaNoWriMo, which starts on Friday). The series is set in a dystopian sort of future where the remains of the world’s population is living underground in a Silo, whilst above the dust destroys everything living. The second novel in the series, Shift, reveals a whole lot more and actually gives the story a lot of context, but I won;t spoil anything for you as it is a true joy to read. Any way, I’ve been looking forward to this book for ages and it concludes this brilliant tale.

What would you do if the fate of  everyone you knew rested in your hands?

And the choices you made could lead to their salvation, or be the death of us all.

This is how the story ends.

This is the return to dust.

So, that’s all three nominees for next month. As I said I hope they all prove interesting to you and please vote for your favourite one below. I will post the winner on 4 November.

Leave a Reply

