Voting for the Next Any One Book

I thought I might try a new system for Any One Book, since I have many books on my shelf.

I’m going to leave the decision for the next Any One Book up tp you guys. Below you will find a list of three books, complete with their blurbs and an image, and whichever has the most votes by the 4 October will be revealed the next day as our next book. Feel free to vote for whatever reasons you want, if you’ve read it before and want to see what I think, if you haven’t read it and you want to read along, or simply because you like the look of the cover (despite that old saying), just make sure you leave a comment or click one of the choices in the poll below.

1: The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

The Rook

Surprise surprise, The Rook is a book about wizards! Anyone who’s read this blog will know that I’m a massive fan of Harry Potter, so when wizards happen to crop up in the blurb of another book I’m more than willing to give it a go. It looks incredibly interesting and the blurb is very tantalizing:

“Dear you, the body you are wearing used to be mine”

A woman awakens in a London park, dripping wet and surrounded by corpses wearing latex gloves. In her pocket is a letter from her previous self: Rook Thomas, a superpowered operative in Britain’s most secret of secret agencies. And then someone tries to kill her. Again.

It sounds like an awesome book, but then there are so many awesome books to choose from, which is why I leave it in your capable hands.

2: Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman

Noughts and Crosses

I have had this book on my shelf for absolutely ages. It was recommended to me by a fellow book blogger and I have yet to get round to reading it, shame on me! It hs been intriguing me for so long and it sounds like a hugely interesting read:

Callum is a nought – a second-class citizen in a world run by the ruling Crosses…

Sephy is a Cross, daughter of one of the most powerful men in the country…

In their world, noughts and Crosses simply don’t mix. And as hostility turns to violence, can Callum and Sephy possibly find a way to be together? They are determined to try.

And then the bomb explodes. 

There is a cliffhanger in the blurb. If anything promises to be good it has to be a cliffhanger in the blurb. I can honestly say I can’t wait to read this, whenever that may be, and discuss it with people who already have.

3: The Once and Future King by T.H. White

The Once and Future King

I love me some Arthurian myth and intrigue. It’s one of my favourite eras and some of the stories are just amazing. So when I saw this behemoth of a tome in Waterstones the longing was instant.

T.H White’s masterful retelling of the Arthurian legend is an abiding classic…

This is the tale of King Arthur and his shining Camelot; of Merlyn and Owl and Guinevere; of beasts who talk and men who fly; of knights, wizardry and war.

It is the book of all things lost and wonderful and sad; the masterpiece of fantasy by which all others are judged.

It sounds absolutely enthralling and magical, which is to be expected when King Arthur is mentioned. It’s probably a book full of action as well as the mystique the follows Arthur and Merlin (or Merlyn) where ever they appear.

And so I pass the choice onto you. Which of these three books would you like to be the next Any One Book?

Leave a Reply

