Loki’s Wolves by Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr

Lokis-Wolves

Hello!!!

I know, I know. It’s been a while. Some of you might even see this pop up in your email and think ‘what the hell is Anyonething?’ I may not have been posting much, but I have been reading, so you can expect a few more reviews.

The first of which is Kelley Armstrong’s collaboration with Melissa Marr. You all know I love Armstrong’s books, she’s a very strong writer and usually comes equipped with very strong characters. You might also remember I love mythology, so immediately I thought this would be a brilliant combination….I even said so on Goodreads. Unfortunately it proved to be disappointing.

Loki’s Wolves is about the descendants of the norse gods and the prophesy of Ragnarök. Ragnarök is the end of the world in which the gods must fight their enemies. Loki leads the monsters and Thor (please don’t picture the Avenger’s guy, he’s a comic book character, which is far different to an actual god) fights the Midgard serpent. Except, the norse gods are dead and their descendents must take up their roles.

Firstly, I must point out that it’s actually a children’s book, so this explains a lot of things. However, it still strikes as a poor imitation of Percy Jackson. But before I get too deep into the negatives I do want to highlight some good points. I learned a lot about Norse mythology from this book, it gave a good insight of what the myths are like, but in a simplified form. The general gist of the book is also very good, it’s just not exciting.

There is still a sense of patronisation towards the reader. They never explain anything that might deepen the plot and make the book exciting. The norse gods are dead? Oh my, how did they die? Do we get an explanation? Nope, not even one scrap or tidbit. I understand if that story is getting saved for later in other books, but at least throw us a scrap.

The characters are very weak, there’s a lot of ‘gah I can’t stand you!’ and ‘actually you’re an alright guy, I was completely wrong”.  They all trust each other too quickly and even though there’s someone who is completely and utterly obviously a bad guy, most of them are just blind to it.

Also, everything happens way too conveniently and quickly, there’s not really much time to explore the story or the characters or even enjoy the mythology sprinkled throughout. If I was in the target age group I know for a fact that I would be entirely unsatisfied with this offering.

Then there’s the dialogue, it’s just awful, it backs up the naivety of the characters and well, if our world rested on their shoulders I honestly wouldn’t hold much hope.

All in all, I think children’s fiction is something Armstrong needs to stay away from and now I don’t intend to ever read anything Marr has done. In hindsight I’m finding it very difficult to remember what I liked about the book.

Will I read any sequels? Yes. My curiosity needs to be quelled and there’s always a chance for improvement.

5 responses to “Loki’s Wolves by Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr

Leave a Reply

