A Dance With Dragons 1: Dreams and Dust by George R. R. Martin

Sigh.

What has happened to this series. It used to wonderful and thrilling and full of adventure but now it’s almost dull and boring and full of food. You know, Mr Martin, if words really are wind then I’m afraid this dreary book of yours will be blown away rather easily.

Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy the series, but when you compare Game of Thrones to this one you’ll find there is no comparison. It’s like trying to compare Harry Potter and Twilight, books and eBooks, Blondie’s One Way or Another and One Direction’s version.

One of the saving graces of this book are the characters, most of the best ones are in here, there’s Tyrion and Dany and Jon and even Bran is starting to get better. But for all these good chapters you have to put up with Davos and Melisandre and Theon. It even gets to the point where you’re sick of Tyrion as his bitterness has ruined him, and Dany is weak. She used to be so strong but her time in Meereen has destroyed her, meanwhile Bran’s story is intriguing but considering what he does to Hodor he’s really as much of a prick as Joffrey.

Martin’s problem is that he is a pessimist, it’s like he cannot allow us to like any of characters so he makes them all grey. He paints a horrid picture with his words of wind, he turns the innocent into bastards and the brave into craven. Nothing good can happen without something worse than bad following……except, really, nothing happened. Characters say things and repeat themselves, they yell and they fight and they swear and they eat.

My god do they eat. My eyes have gorged on so many different foods in the land of Westeros that I am full. I cannot read one more lengthy paragraph about food otherwise I fear I might actually be sick. He talks about it so much that I’m fairly sure if you take all mentions od food from this book it would be half the size and would actually be a much more interesting tale.

Now, I know that this is sounding very negative as if I hated it, but I didn’t. There are some humorous moments courtesy of Tyrion, Dany continued to prove that she cared about her people and the Sand Snakes were a welcome reprieve from the rest of the doom and gloom.  Martin continued to wow with all the details and thought he put into the history of Westeros, he’s always keen with those details and the histories and cultural quirks and the whole Greenseer thing is particularly interesting. I also like Theon’s battle with insanity, the constant ‘Reek, Reek, it rhymes with meek’ sets a nice pace to his chapters. Yet, I can’t help but wish Martin would put as much detail into the actual plot.

I hate that I’m not in love with this series as much as I was before, it used to be so magical and the characters were all amazing, but now I feel there are too many and the books are too saturated with all these people and their betrayals, and as much as it pains me to admit, but I have one more Song of Ice and Fire book left to read before I catch up and it strikes me as a chore. There is hardly any joy in the prospect of opening it up but I have hope in my heart that it will be an improvement. I mean, if this one was the first part then maybe everything will have been pushed into the second half….hopefully.

I wish I could be as certain as the Dothraki and say ‘ the next book will be good, it is known,’ but I can’t and hopefully I will look at this post in hindsight and shout ‘you fool, of course it was good!’

2 responses to “A Dance With Dragons 1: Dreams and Dust by George R. R. Martin

  • beckyday6

    Ohh dear, I’ve heard that this series goes down hill so I was curious to hear your thoughts on it. Even with that in mind, I really want to start it! I hope it picks up again in subsequent books, otherwise it would be a real shame. :/ Maybe since you are nearly caught up have a big break from the series and come back to it?

    • Summer Grant

      Definitely read it, it might go down hill but that’s because it’s such a good story to start with. I’d say that this one was a good as the average fantasy book out there so it’s not like it’s terrible, it just fails to live up to the standard of the first three books (but is a marked improvement on the fourth).

      Haha, I had a massive break while I was reading it 😛 I know that there’s a lot of good stuff coming up so that’s an incentive!

Leave a Reply

