A Fond Farewell to the Women of the Otherworld: Bitten Review

As you no doubt know, either because you’re a fan of them or because you’ve read my blogs of lament, Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Other World series is coming to an end this month.

In thirteen days to be exact.

13 will be released on 24 July and I thought; ‘this needs to be celebrated’. So, for the next few days I will be posting a review of each of the books Bitten to Spellbound until theย final book hits bookstores and bookshelves.ย 

So, from today until the 23 July, the day before the release, be careful because this blog will become a portal into Armstrong’s amazing world of the supernatural, you’ll encounter werewolves, vampires, demons, half demons, ghosts, witches and sorcerers. Yet there will be more dangerous creatures filtering from the Otherworld into this; spoilers.

Be warned dear reader, this is a true celebration of Armstrong’s world, a celebration of her epic characters and her genius plot, those nifty little twists that make it such an exciting world to be a part of and even some general ideas that she explores over the course of her finest achievement.

So today let us start today with Bitten.

It introduced to us the series’ most complex yet loveable protagonist; Elena Michaels. She’s blonde, athletic, smart, funny and turns into a fearsome wolf at least once a week. As a foster child her past has been a turbulent one and she thought life was about to get so much better when she met Clay, until the bastard bit her and turned her into the world’s first and only female werewolf.

It’s been a good few years since she left the pack, giving up their company in order to live out a normal life, or as normal as you can get when you have to change into a wolf every so often.

A series of events draw her back into the world she has been trying so hard to avoid, which inevitably means coming face to face with her one time lover, the blonde haired, blue-eyed man who brought her into the world of werewolves. Yet her homecoming is marred by the deaths of old friends and the resurgence of mutts (werewolves who aren’t a part of the pack).

It quickly becomes apparent that she is a conflicted character, she feels more at home with the pack than anywhere else, they’ll accept her for who she is no matter what, yet logic tells her that she should be living in the normal world and continuing with the life she has created for herself. But which life is it she wants?

Who is it she wants?

With Elena, Armstrong made feminists everywhere cheer, she’s a strong main character who has a believable development with a strength that most female (and male for that matter) characters lack. She jumps to humour no matter the situation and if she gets herself into trouble you can be certain that she’ll get herself out of it. No men needed thank you very much.

In fact this is one of the strongest books of the series. everything about Bittenย keeps you hooked, the characters, the plot, the way Armstrong writes and even the humour. The author has a unique way of looking at things, she makes a point and sticks with it even if it might be controversial.

The book deals with murderers and Armstrong makes the point of saying that werewolves that kill humans do so because they’re part human not part animal. Which is pretty thought-provoking right? If you think about it animals only kill what they need to survive, humans kill because of emotion and (if you bring the food industry into this) humans kill in excess, taking more than we need.

It’s ideas and dialogue like this that make Elena Michaels (and therefore Bitten itself) such a treasure. Very rarely do you get a character so strong and so memorable and so loveable. She might be a werewolf but you can relate to her.

The story develops at the right pace and concludes correctly with *SPOILERS* Elena choosing to go back to the pack. Each character is loveable, even Clay despite his anti-social behaviour, and you’re left wanting more of this brilliant book, more of its characters, more of the writing. All in all you’re left desperate for more of the Otherworld

7 responses to “A Fond Farewell to the Women of the Otherworld: Bitten Review

  • beckyday6

    I got a notification about the release of this book from orbit books and immediately thought of you because of your love of the series. It’s so horrible when one of your favourite book series come to an end, it often leaves you in some weird well-what-do-I-do-now daze that can last for days.
    I loved Bitten! Unfortunately I still haven’t gotten past the first book yet dammit, but I really want to. I own all the books up to Haunted, and I’ve got her book The Gatering to read on my shelf as well. I looooove Kelley Armstrong and I can’t wait to dive into more of her books! ๐Ÿ™‚ When I get the oppotunity I may just have a splurge and read them all at once haha. *sigh* Ohh well, one step at a time, I’ll deal with Inheritance first!

    “Armstrong makes the point of saying that werewolves that kill humans do so because theyโ€™re part human not part animal.” That’s really interesting, I don’t remember that. I don’t know whether I didn’t notice it or if it’s just too long ago that I read it to remember. But a very smart point! I loved Elena for the same reasons as you.

    Hmmm…..these upcoming posts, should I be avoiding them as I haven’t read the books yet? How spoilery will they be?

    Great idea to base a load of blog posts around this, Kelley would be proud! Lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Summer Grant

      It’s going to be so so so sad D: I had that feeling after Inheritance actually! Can’t believe it’s going to happen again so soon haha.

      You will love the rest of the series, for the most part it’s the same quality as Bitten! But It’s good that you’re going to get Inheritance done first ๐Ÿ˜›

      I think it’s from Bitten, I haven’t read it in a while and I’m reviewing from memory, I saw someone else mention it and the psychology behind that bit of narration and thought it was really cool!

      Elena is totally the best of the woman of the otherworld! Haha, thanks, I’ll try and not be too spoilery but there are some things that are going to be said that I wouldn’t think are spoilers that might be, like the protagonists and their stories. I’ll try and warn people by putting *SPOILERS* but other little things might slip past that very secure system ๐Ÿ˜›

      • beckyday6

        Hahaa okais, I will proceed with caution! ๐Ÿ˜›

        Yeah I keep going to pick Inheritance up and then putting it down again because I don’t want to start it….because I don’t want the series to end!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Tis so sad. I might finally make the leap and start reading it today though. :S

        How are you finding Dracula? Made any progress? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Summer Grant

      It’s worth it! Completely worth it and you can always comfort yourself with the knowledge that he’s said he’ll go back to that world ๐Ÿ™‚

      Dracula
      is
      awesome!

      I keep making the mistake of reading it when I’m in bed or if I’m alone and it gets kind of scary haha! But it more than makes up for Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter. I can see why it’s a classic.

      • beckyday6

        Hmmm ok… *looks tentatively over at it* here we go!

        Haha ohh good I’m glad! One of my friends told me that she wasn’t really enjoying it that much so it got me a little worried. But my book taste is much more similar to yours than my friends so it’s alll goood. Haha ๐Ÿ™‚

        I shall look forward to your review. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Summer Grant

      Haha, I hope you have a wonderful journey with Inheritance!

      :O Blasphemy! ๐Ÿ˜› It’s sort of addictive and I’ve never really read a book that’s scared me before such a new experience! I think you’ll like it when you get round to reading it!

  • Stories I’m Writing #41: A Fond Farewell | The Write Stuff

    […] A Fond Farewell to the Women of the Otherworld: Bitten Review (anyonething.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

