Any One Book #10

Ah, it’s time to choose a new book, but which one to choose.

There are many sitting on my bookshelf screaming out for attention, but which do I listen to? Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen? It’s beseeching me to open its pages, to explore the writings of Austen further, to jump through that window into the past.

Then there’s The Seventh Scroll by Wilbur Smith, it’s predecessor River God was such an enlightening read and this one promises to be similar although the journey is ultimately different.

Of course George RR Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series is one of the noisiest, the temptation to carry on with the epic fantasy is overwhelming, but resist I must.

Every time I walk past the bookshelf the clamour is deafening, but one voice booms out louder in a Transylvanian accent, the cover looking as ominous as the character it was named after. It is a classic that everyone will know, the father of the vampire genre (although I’m sure it has disowned Twilight, the black sheep of the family).

Indeed, Any One Book number 10 is Dracula.

I’m sure you all know the story, an Englishman finds himself in Dracula’s castle as part of his job, the local people warned him not to go and feared for his life. His host is ever so mysterious and turns out to be a vampire, and much adventure and horror ensues.

I have it on good authority that this book is scarier than the actual films so, as a bit of a coward, I enter the world of this fictional masterpiece tentatively.

As always, if you have the book read along!

4 responses to “Any One Book #10

  • beckyday6

    Haha I just saw your comment on my blog! How crazy! We obviously have such great taste that it just keeps overlapping. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I love the way you structured this post, and it sounds like you’ve got a lot of great books to look forward to.
    I can’t wait to explore Dracula, so I hope you enjoy it. I’m hoping it won’t bee a letdown after all the great hype around it, I don’t really have any idea what to expect! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Summer Grant

    Haha, that’s it! Our book taste is just so amazing!
    Ah, thank you! Yeah, Dracula has been tormenting me for a while so I thought it was time to relent haha, I’ll try not to ruin it too much when I write the post!
    It does seem a rather mysterious book, but I guess that’s appropriate considering who it’s about! ๐Ÿ˜›

  • David

    Summer: Time to heed the call of Sense and Sensibility. Full disclosure: it has some of the less appealing marks of an early novel: the construction is somewhat haphazard in places, and the dialogue (at least compared to, say, Emma or Pride and Prejudice) isn’t especially great. But S&S has at its heart four of Austen’s best-drawn characters, and maybe the most satisfying ending of any of her novels. I think you’ll enjoy it. Cheers.

    • Summer Grant

      Oh that sounds really good. Decent character can always make up for the writing if it’s lacking. You’ve definitely just bumped the book up the waiting list! I’ll definitely get started on it soon, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

