Genius George

You have no idea how addicted I am to Game of Thrones at the moment, or more accurately A Storm of  Swords 1: Steel and Snow.

It makes doing anything else very, very difficult. It’s so full of twists and turns that even the simplest detail is hugely important. For example just yesterday I looked up what I assumed would be an innocuous little detail on a Song of Ice and Fire wiki and lo and behold a major plot twist was ruined for me.

So thinking that the damage was done I looked more into the twist and guess what? Yep, that’s right, more surprises were unravelled.   

I only have myself to blame.

It’s such a complex plot that I have no idea how George R.R Martin has organised it all, or even remembers everything he’s come up with. But I have to say he is one heck of a brilliant author.

He refuses to follow any rules, he decides he wants to do something and he sure as hell goes ahead and does it. Even though I’ve ruined some of the surprises of this book for myself I still can’t put it down, I want to know what’s going to happen and I’m really looking forward to reaching this particular meander in the Song of Ice and Fire river because I can’t wait to see how he has written it.

It’s as epic as epic fantasy is ever going to get.

5 responses to “Genius George

  • beckyday6

    Glad your enjoying them! I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on A Game of Thrones, I will just have to get reading those TBR pile books so I can allow myself to buy some more! 🙂

    • Summer Grant

      They are awesome! I’m kinda worried though, they’re so good, but there’s every possibility that the next one might not be. You’ll love them I’m sure (or at least I hope) especially from the second book onwards. Haha, at least with your exams done you can make some headway on your TBR pile!

      • beckyday6

        Yeah definitely! 🙂
        I’m sure if you like them, I will like them.
        I have heard some whispers around the blogosphere though that the later books aren’t as good because he only did more so he could get more money with the TV series or something..? Don’t know if that’s true or not though. You’ll have to let me know 😉

    • Summer Grant

      Ah I hope that isn’t true! It’ll be such a shame otherwise. I heard that he took seven years to write one of them because he decided halfway through he didn’t like it so changed direction!

  • Youtube Favourite: Mike Brooks « Musical Nourishment

    […] Genius George (anyonething.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

