Any One Book #9

Ah, it has been a while, for which I apologise.

I’ve been up to a few things, I went up to London the other week for an exhibition at the British Library. It’s called Wasteland to Wonderland and it’s a whole bunch of original manuscripts and notes from authors including Geoffrey Chaucer, Arthur Conan Doyle, Bram Stoker, Lewis Carroll, Jane Austen, Angela Carter and of course J.K. Rowling. There was also a hand drawn map of the 100 Acre Wood by A.A. Milne and a picture drawn for the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. If anyone is interested in it I think it goes on until September.

I also had fun celebrating the Jubilee, a couple of my friends actually went up to London (of which I was actually kinda jealous until it started raining). It’s sad that Prince Philip was in hospital for half of it though, as my mum said, it was his celebration too. 

Anyway, I realise I’m late with Any One Book this month. I have some compulsory reading to do so I’ve decided that the book for this month is one that I have already started. I was going to have Dracula for this month, but I don’t have the time to really get into it so instead I’ve decided that will be next month’s (spoilers I know!) and for now I introduce to you Black Powder War.

One of the reasons I didn’t choose this one straight away is because it is the third in a series and apart from a couple of exceptions I don’t like to take books out of sequence. The first instalment of this series  is called Temeraire which I reviewed for Any One Book previously.

It still follows Captain Lawrence and his dragon Temeraire, who is both wise and naive, charming yet annoying. During the second book they and their crew went on a bit of a jaunt to Chine, a jaunt on which the fate of Britain depended. While Temeraire was welcomed warmly Lawrence was often neglected and very almost assassinated.

Now they wend their way home through the confusing landscape of Asia and Europe and encounter betrayal in an unexpected place as they are given a mission of utmost importance.

As always feel free to read along, or if you have already read it let me know what you think!

2 responses to “Any One Book #9

Leave a Reply

