Great Britain’s Great Year

union jack

union jack (Photo credit: NapaneeGal)

I am loving this year. With the Olympics and the Queen’s Jubilee as well as our deluded hopes for Eurovision tomorrow it really is a great time to be living in this country. Everywhere I go the Union Jack is proudly displayed, reminiscent of the Royal Wedding last year.

The Olympic Torch is touring the country with much fanfare and celebration following it about. Our hopes are high and despite the horrid logo and terrible mascots everyone is finally getting into the Olympic spirit. I bought bunting and flags the other day. I want to deck our windows in red, white and blue, I want to do the same to my bedroom walls. A patriotic fervour is sweeping through Britain and I must admit I have been infected. The fever has gripped me and this year I feel as if we deserve the name Great Britain.

I have cushions and bags and canvases and clothing all decorated with the flag what can I say? I’m a sucker for it. I’m proud to be British and with disillusionment creeping over us like shadows it’s nice to feel like that once again. Who knows if we’re going to do well in the Olympics but at least it’s here at least, if only for a little while, we get to love our country again.

And I fully intend to enjoy it, I will be sitting down to watch the Queen make history on 5 June and on 15 July the Olympic Torch will go right outside my flat.

I suppose I had better learn the national anthem, I hope to hear it a lot this year.

 

4 responses to “Great Britain’s Great Year

Leave a Reply

