Any One Book: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

Just quickly, before I start talking about the book, I finished university yesterday! I handed in my last piece of work and needless to say it feels pretty damn weird!

Anywho, onto the book….remember there will be spoilers.

This is quite an enjoyable book. It’s basically Pride and Prejudice (which I enjoyed very, very much) with a bunch of zombies thrown in for good measure. In fact I think it could’ve used more, which is saying something considering I’m not a massive fan of them.

Set in the world of Jane Austen’s famous novel, Elizabeth Bennet has a lot more to worry about than society and a certain Mr Darcy. She’s armed with swords and muskets as well as her trademark wit and together with her four sisters fights off zombies as she tries to live her life.

It started off pretty slow, actually if I’m totally honest it was really difficult to get into. It stays quite close to the original book and it hardly seems innovative, in fact it’s kind of like he imagines what it would be like with zombies in and just dumped them on the peripheral without bothering to integrate them into the story too much.

However it is a lot more humorous, I did find myself laughing out loud at some points and the whole being trained in the deadly arts was a good added extra. Whenever something gets a bit too serious the zombie idea is used for a bit of comic relief, I mean it must be eerily funny to see a bunch of zombies crawling over the ground mauling heads of cauliflower because they’ve mistaken them for brains.

Anyway like I said before it was difficult to get into and I’m going to attribute this to Smith’s writing, it seemed kind of stilted and guarded. I know I read Pride and Prejudice a few months ago but it was still fresh enough in my memory to know that quite a bit of this was almost word for word exactly the same. This is to be expected but I had hoped he would take more creative license.

Saying that though, the further I got into it the better  it became. More of the zombie side of things was introduced and explained. For example Elizabeth and her sisters were sent to China to be trained but of course, according to Lady Catherine, this wasn’t good enough and in fact the only place that’s worth being trained is Kyoto in Japan.   

Every house that has a warrior devoted to fighting the unmentionables comes with a dojo attached and Lady Catherine even has a full body-guard of ninjas.

There was even a bit of humour when it came to comparing Colonel Fitzwilliam with Mr Darcy. Charlotte Lucas, who was unfortunately bitten by a zombie and therefore slowly transformed into one, thought that Mr Darcy’s big head was advantageous because logic dictates that he must have more brains.

While it was enjoyable I would suggest you only read this if you liked Pride and Prejudice, it is far too similar and I feel that someone who wasn’t overly keen on the original might not like this one much. I’m hopeful about the sequel though,  definitely want to read Dawn of the Dreadfuls.

Don’t foret to check out the six word review!

If you’ve read it what did yo think of the book?

7 responses to “Any One Book: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

  • beckyday6

    Hmmm….interesting.
    I’m having one of those I-can’t-make-my-brain-work-days so I’m gunna leave it at that haha.
    Nice review though!

  • El Guapo

    I enjoyed this book, but strongly agree with you – way too few zombies.
    In the end, I felt like I got tricked into reading Pride and Prejudice.

  • showard76

    I loved this, I’ve not read the original but keep meaning to after having found this so much fun! I believe they have done a similar thing with some other classics?

    • Summer Grant

      Yeah! there’s Sense and Sensibility and Seamonsters and Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter which has been adapted to a film and will be out later this year. Must devour them all!

  • Emma by Jane Austen Review 4/5 | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

    […] I’m in two minds about Jane Austen’s writing style. At times I really love it, she can have such an elegant way of stating things, like the quotes I used above. Her writing also (as I said before) creates such fantastic characters. And yet…..at some points when the story seems to be going very slowly it begins to grate on me. She also seemed to do a lot of telling rather than showing. But this may just be a reflection of the period it was written in, I’m not sure. Maybe someone with more knowledge of the classics could give me some insight? This book was very close to getting a five out of five from me, but something about Austen’s work (that I’ve read so far) just doesn’t quite seem to satisfy me. I found the same with Pride and Prejudice as I did with Emma. Maybe it’s just the fantasy loving part of me, but while reading I often wish a swarm of vampires or a dragon would appear at one of their social gathering and scare them all silly. It would be so interesting to see how they would react. Would Mr Darcy stay calm? Or would he run away screaming like a girl? Would Emma Woodhouse be cleaver enough to find an escape route? The randomness that is my brain people! Although, I suppose not that random. I imagine that train of thought is how books like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies were created. Not that I’ve read any of them, but you should check out Summer’s great review here! […]

Leave a Reply

