Tim Burton: Master of the Big Screen

Tim Burton, speaking at ComicCon 2009

Tim Burton, speaking at ComicCon 2009 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You know, I’m not a massive film person, I mean I like to watch them but I couldn’t for the life of me tell you the different techniques directors use and I have only a basic grasp on the types of camera shots. I’m also more a follower of actors and not directors, but there’s one exception (well, two, but Jane Goldman writes screenplays and well, no offence to her but this blog post isn’t about her), and that’s Tim Burton.

I seriously love his work. The first on I watched was Nightmare Before Christmas, it might be short but it’s exceptionally sweet. I think it’s the world that he created that gripped me, it’s the same with everything he takes on. For example I actually prefer his version of Charlie and the Chocolate factory, it’s a lot more magical than the older one and feels more like a Roald Dahl invention.

Burton has an eye for stuff that most other directors don’t and I always enjoy landing in his worlds no matter how many times I’ve been in them before. He’s a quirky guy and I love that he doesn’t fit into the stereotypical image of Hollywood yet he’s one of the bes directors about.

Why am I talking about him? Because I saw this of course!

Cannot wait!

4 responses to “Tim Burton: Master of the Big Screen

  • beckyday6

    Hahaa, this looks awesome! Is this the same director that did Alice in Wonderland and the soon to be released Snow White?

    • Summer Grant

      Yeah, he did the recent Alice film (which I love to just look at haha). Is he doing a Snow White one? I didn’t know that. It’s not the one with she-who-cannot-act (Kristen Stewart) is it?

      He did Sweeney Todd and Corpse Bride as well 🙂

      • beckyday6

        Ahh right cool I saw Sweeney and though that was good, haven’t seen the corpse bride. Unfortunately it is, which is such a shame because it looks like an excellent story/film, but WHYYYYYYY did they have to put HER in it??? Grr. Ohh no wait, I just looked it up, it’s not him. I thought it was because it said from the makers of Alice in Wonderland. 😛

    • Summer Grant

      I know right, It looked so good until she popped up haha, tis a shame because it looked better than Mirror Mirror.
      Yeah I quite liked Sweeney Todd too, what’s not to love about Tim Burton, Helena Bonham Carter and Alan Rickman 😛
      Ha, I’m kinda pleased that he’s not doing it, would’ve been quite disappointed if he had chosen to work with her haha

Leave a Reply

