Have you Discovered Goodreads?

I have.

Just the other day in fact. It’s pretty good. It’s a sort of social networking site based around the books you have read, will read and are reading at the moment.

You type the title in, or search by the name of the author and you put it into one of those three categories (or bookshelves). You can sort the bookshelves according to genre too, but I haven’t got round to that yet. In fact I’ve only just uploaded a profile picture.

The more books you add the better the recommendations you get. For instance, due to the fact that I’m currently reading The Time Traveller’s Guide to Medieval England I’ve been recommended Medieval Women which I have no interest in whatsoever.  But because I have read Pride and Prejudice the site has suggested Jane Eyre which I do actually intend to read at some point in my life. Worry not though, you can say you’re not interested and it’ll disappear.

Another good thing is that you can find some authors on there. At the moment I’m following Kelley Armstrong and Naomi Novik. I found them when I searched their books, it says whether they’re on Goodreads or not.

Although I have to say I’m a bit disappointed in myself. I thought I had read more books in my almost 21 years of being a bookworm…mind you my memory is pretty terrible. Anyway, if you’re on it you can find me here dressed up as Professor Trelawny.

3 responses to “Have you Discovered Goodreads?

Leave a Reply

