Robert Hardy: A Far Nicer Man than Fudge

At six this evening I picked up the phone and dialled a number. On the other end was Robert Hardy. A clock near wherever he was sitting chimed away every quarter of an hour.

50 minutes later, after a conversation full of C.S Lewis, J.R.R Tolkien, his time on the Harry Potter set and an impression of Alfonso Cuaron I was hanging up.  

This was not only the biggest interview I’ve ever conducted but also one of the most interesting. He was not only tutored by C.S Lewis and J.R.R Tolkien (before they published the very little known books the Chronicles of Narnia and The Lord of the Rings) but he is also a medieval historian and has written a book on the longbow (which is my weapon of choice in the book I’m writing and I love the medieval times so I thought that was really fascinating).

He had nothing but praise for Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson (for some reason we didn’t get talking about Rupert Grint but I’m sure he would have praised him too). He urged me to put on a brave face and to go and see The Woman in Black because he saw it a couple of days ago and enjoyed it. But mostly he was very enthusiastic and seemed to enjoy talking.

He’s such an interesting man and it was really nice to hear about some of his memories on set of Harry Potter not only that but he genuinely loves the job and the acting and appreciates everything that’s been given to him.

I feel kind of honoured to have had the chance to speak to him. Before telling me I had a charming name he said to make sure I send him a copy of the interview once it has been marked.

9 responses to “Robert Hardy: A Far Nicer Man than Fudge

Leave a Reply

