The BRIT Awards are Almost here, Will this Year’s Critic’s Choice Live up to the History?

On 21 February the BRIT awards will be taking place again. You might remember last year when Adele gave her first performance of Someone Like You, you know, the one that had everyone captivated and started her along the road of extraordinary success that she’s enjoyed this past year.

There’s one award that we know the result of before the ceremony airs on TV and that’s the Critic’s Choice Award. It has a habit of choosing the next big thing in British music. I mean look at its history: Florence and the Machine, Adele, Jessie J and Ellie Goulding (actually to be fair I’m not a fan of the last one).

Florence is absolutely amazing, anyone who has heard her can’t deny that she has the voice of an angel and the poetic talent of Shakespeare. She puts her all into every single note of every single song.

Adele, well to be honest I think she got lucky. Yeah her voice is good and she has three decent songs that have spurred on her album sales but the tracks that she hasn’t released are dull. She’s broken records and picked up numerous awards but none of that can hide the fact that 19 and 21 sound very similar to one another. She’s good, but I don’t think she’s great despite how big she has become (although my iTunes is telling me that I’ve listened to Rolling in the Deep 743 times…).

Jessie J was last year’s winner. She’s not usually my cup of tea but her lyrics are brilliant, I wouldn’t buy her album but I would happily listen to it occasionally on Spotify. I know I say it a lot but I do think in a world of Lindsay Lohans and the reality TV disease that is The Only Way is Essex (spawning even more deadly and vile hybrid illnesses such as Made in Chelsea and Desperate Scousewives) it’s refreshing to have her wading her way through the music industry.

Ellie Goulding, while I find her boring and lifeless, has made a positive impression on the charts here. She hasn’t had anything out for a while, in fact I haven’t heard from her since she butchered Elton John’s Your Song. My problem with her is that she sings, she sings and doesn’t do anything else. She doesn’t invest in her songs. It’s as if they don’t mean anything to her, she’s just going through the motions hoping for a hit.

But my point here is that they have all had chart success, they’ve proven the critics right and this year’s recipient is going to be feeling that pressure. Emeli Sande (also called Adele but as you know that name has been taken already) is 2012’s critics choice. She’s collaborated with the likes of Professor Green (not actually a real professor, the liar) and as I’m writing this her debut album Our Version of Events is topping the iTunes Album Chart.

Heaven has had quite a bit of radio play and you can also find her on the front cover of The Hype magazine (formally known as Hype). And you know, those darn critics have done it again. She’s a good singer and a good songwriter. The first part of the album is undoubtedly the best, she displays her range, if they’re released I expect Mountains and My Kind of Love to be popular. But the second half seems kind of lacking. Apart from Next to Me it’s all a bit dreary. On some of the songs she suffers the Ellie Goulding syndrome but for the most part her soulful voice conveys emotion.

I read a review of the album in a newspaper over the weekend and it said that it lacks character and I think I agree. Yeah she has a few hits there and she’s got a promising career ahead of her but I come away feeling that I still don’t know who Emeli Sande is.

If I were to recommend a song to you it would be Next to Me:

6 responses to “The BRIT Awards are Almost here, Will this Year’s Critic’s Choice Live up to the History?

  • El Guapo

    I was so taken by Florence and the Machine, I travelled from NY to Florida to see them (opening for U2). great show, worth the trip.
    Good video above. I’ll keep an ear out for Ms Sande

    • Summer Grant

      Wow, that’s a long way to go, I’m glad it was worth it πŸ™‚ I’m going to see Florence play in Birmingham next month, it’s a while away but not as far as the trek you had to make! Needless to say I can’t wait haha

  • beckyday6

    Aggh, I completely agree on the Ellie Goulding front. Something about her really bugs me, and her voice grates on me too. It reminds me of a four year old singing, and gives me the strong urge to punch something. It’s strange that I have such a negative reaction to her music, but I just can’t stand it/her…..
    I’ve heard a couple of Emeli Sande’s songs and I wasn’t that bothered. She has talent no question, but I feel like there’s something missing at the moment. Hopefully she’ll find her niche in the future. πŸ™‚

    • Summer Grant

      Haha, she has a similar effect on my mum. Whenever that John Lewis advert came on she wither moaned very loudly or tunred it over as quickly as possible haha. I think she does need an injection of personality though!
      To be fair, most of Emeli Sande’s album can be skipped but she does have a couple of gems on there and I think if she hones in on the style of those she has a great career ahead of her πŸ™‚

  • Music To Write or Work To! | GIRL IN THE BUTTERFLY DRESS

    […] The BRIT Awards are Almost here, Will this Year’s Critic’s Choice Live up to the History… (anyonething.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

