Books, Banner and Reviews

It has been an eventful few days, sort of. I’d like to start of by saying thank you to Chattingwithspirit from the Hand in Hand With Spirit blog for nominating me for the Kreativ Blogger and Versatile Blogger awards, however I am ashamed to say that I have encountered the same problem from my first Versatile Blogger nomination, which is that I still do not read enough blogs to be able to pass it on. I am in the process of correcting this though.

Secondly I would like to announce that I will be applying to do a Masters degree in Creative Writing, I can’t believe I’m actually doing this. I always thought after my three years at uni I’d just be going straight out into the big wide world, but fortunately this opportunity has arisen and I’d be an idiot to let it go by without even trying.

And now I’d like to explain to you two new additions to my blog. The new page The Book List came about after a discussion with my boyfriend. He has set himself a challenge to read one book a month (I aim to make Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone one of these since he hasn’t read any Harry Potter books) and I initially thought that was quite a lot of reading to get done…until I realised that I am on my third book of the year already.

On The Book List you will find the name of the books I have read along with a six word review next  to each, these will basically be what impression each book made on me. I took this idea from something I had to do in music journalism last year. We looked at this journalist who decided to listen to the entire playlist from a South by Southwest festival  (2008 I think) and he gave himself only a couple of rules. He would do it in one sitting (there were 763 songs for this particular year) and no matter how much he liked a song he would only listen to it once.

So I thought I would do something similar, I will list the books I read throughout the year and give each of them a six word review…hopefully I’ll get better as the year goes on.

The other difference is the stop censorship banner. I know it’s something that’s happening in the U.S but I thought that I should still show my opposition to the legislation that is being propose, after all if it happens in America it’ll affect elsewhere too. It’s bad enough that censorship happens in China.

On a less serious note I think I’m sliding into a book purchasing addiction. Lately every time I enter Waterstone’s I appear to be buying something and this is particularly bad since there are these range of books that look so beautiful it takes a lot of arguing with myself to walk out empty-handed.

But look how nice they are!

I need to alphabetise my bookcases...

I know you shouldn't judge a book by its cover...but they're such lovely covers.

8 responses to “Books, Banner and Reviews

  • showard76

    I love my books too, I’m doing the 50/50 challenge this year to help bring down my tbr pile – I have to read 50 new books and watch 50 new films! Like you I can’t go near books without buying some – heck last week I was just in Tesco and bought 5 new books! I have now put myself on a ban. I must read 10 books before I can buy 1 and that rule applies to every book I purchase, must read 10 before any more! I wonder if I can stick with it or if I will cheat!!? lol

    • Summer Grant

      I know right, it does take a lot of self-control! My to read pile isn’t anywhere near as big as yours but it seems to be growing haha. That sounds like a good goal to have. I think you’ll be able to stick to it. You could make a list of the ones you want as you go along…mind you, you’ll be stuck with a to buy list as well as a to read pile, could become a vicious circle haha.

  • beckyday6

    Preeeeedddddddddyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy boooooooooooooooooookkksss. Becky wannnttttssssssssssss 🙂 I’m jealous of your Pride and Prejudice book, it’s much prettier than mine!!! *throws a tantrum like a 4 year old* haha.
    Have you read the perks of being a wallflower yet? I don’t know anything about the book but a lot of people seem to really like it so I’m curious. Also whats the big red book?
    Congrats on applying for the masters in creative writing! Sounds like an amazing oppotunity and again, I’m very jealous! 🙂

    • beckyday6

      Ahh it’s Dracula, whoops, it hadn’t loaded when I first looked 😛

      • Summer Grant

        Haha! I went into the shop with the intention of buying a normal one then I saw it and fell in love so had to get it, you know how it is! No I haven’t yet but *whispers* I’m planning on having it as the next Any One Book, shhh don’t tell any one. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it too and wanted to get a look in before the film comes out.
        Thank you I haven’t applied yet, need to get the form and fill it out which I’ll hopefully do tomorrow, but I’m pretty keen to do it despite a couple of 20 minute individual presentations being part of the assesments which must be a good sign haha.

      • beckyday6

        20 minute presentations? 0_0 *gulp*. I am not good with public speaking haha. I’m sure you’ll do great though 🙂
        Awesome, I look forward to your review on it them. I would buy it myself but my tbr pile is practically falling over so I must restrain myself.
        Congrats on your award as well! 🙂

  • El Guapo

    Fantastic idea for the reviews.
    Perhaps you’ll post them as haiku?

    Looking froward to seeing if our reading lists overlap.

    • Summer Grant

      Ah thank you 🙂 I thought it would be interesting and I’m glad you like the idea 🙂 I have never written a haiku in my life but I could give it a go at some point, maybe I could hold a vote at the end of each month and the six word review most well recieved gets a haiku…I’m quite bad at poetry though haha.

      Me too, if it does it’ll be great to hear what you think as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

