Let’s Dispel This Myth

The year 2012. A busy year for Britain. The Olympics will take place in the summer and hoards of Olympians shall be converging upon our modest Island as they attempt to claim the top spot on the podium. It also happens to be the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, another day in which the royalists will be packed into the streets of London for a glimpse of her majesty. 2012 also marks one hundred years since the tragic sinking of the Titanic and being at a uni in Southampton that is near the Titanic memorial I have a feeling that there will be quite a subdued atmosphere in the city.  

But, of course, 2012 is also the year that the world is supposed to end. Foretold long ago by the Mayans, on December 21 the world will come to an end. A film has been made about it and people, while not panicking, are frantically speculating about the end of the year.

It’s the end of the world, we’re doomed.

Except we’re not. We’re not doomed and it’s not the end of the world. It’s the end of an age. Kind of like 2011 was the end of the Harry Potter era except on a much larger scale. It is simply the end of the Mayan calender.

Now imagine as every year closes, when we have to take down our calenders of cats or owls or people, and we panic that by it finishing the world was going to end. It would be a bit absurd really.

Not that I’m dismissing the panic. No doubt I’ll be sat in frenzied thought deciding whether or not to give my mum her birthday present a day early just in case.

But another interpretation is that on this date we experience a positive spiritual transformation. Now out of the two I’d definitely prefer this. When I was little I absolutely adored the Horrible Histories series of books and read the Angry Aztecs (I think), and it was in this book that I first became acquainted with this prophecy of doom. I was absolutely terrified and even a couple of years later I remembered it and shuddered a little with terror. So the latter option I would very much like.

But now I’ve grown up and have a healthy dose of cynicism, I think it might have something to do with living through several end of the worlds already. It seems that this prophecy has fallen prey to the human desire for drama. The Mayans never predicted the end of the world so why do we assume so?

I will cetainly be here on January 1 2013 wishing you a Happy New year.

3 responses to “Let’s Dispel This Myth

Leave a Reply

