If Films Have Taught us Anything it’s to not do this….

Developing robots that can think for themselves. You all know the general myth that’s recycled in films, that one day the machines we created to serve us will instead turn on us and we’d be powerless to stop them. Surely, even though the events are all fictional, there must be some truth in that. Why would something so much more powerful than us want to remain in servitude? Well, they wouldn’t and this should be a lesson observed by all. Robots are not the future and robots are not needed, this I firmly believe.

Yet the cleverest of idiots are devoting their time to creating robots that can think for themselves, they can watch what a  human does and copy it. This strikes of everything that these sci-fi films start off with. So why, when it the danger is conceivable (at least it is to me), are people creating these robots.

Personally I think it’s because the human race is getting more lazy. I mean stuff like a toaster and an oven is fine, it would be too much hassle to squat beside a campfire all day to cook off food, but the iRobot which hoovers by itself, smartphones which combine everything and aims to make everything easier. Bit by bit ease is being introduced to every nook and cranny of our culture, desire is outweighing need.

So in this more recent wave of laziness 900 or so scientists have banded together to create the perfect AI, they focus on everything from perceiving the shape of objects to the algorithms the iCub (the robot they are creating) uses to explore the world surrounding it.  

And I thought Furbies were creepy

 

Personally I find the vacant look it has sort disturbing, even it does look a little bit like Caspar the Friendly Ghost. I have no idea if I’m the only one who gets a bit creeped out by the development of AI so there’s a good chance I might just be coming across as a little bit crazy, so what do you think?

9 responses to “If Films Have Taught us Anything it’s to not do this….

  • chattingwithspirit

    I’m with you on this one … so no, I don’t think you’re crazy! I don’t know why we need humanoid robots who may have the capability to out-think us – I think that’s pretty dodgy.
    Now then, if someone could come up with a little robot who was happy to do my ironing – that would be a different story!

    • Summer Grant

      Completely, I don’t understand why they can’t see the problem with it, or why they’re naive enough to think they can overcome it, it’s kind of scary haha. I don’t often do the ironing, but when I do it’s totally boring so I understand where you’re coming from there haha.

  • showard76

    I agree I don’t see the point in creating these ‘things’ while the films are sci-fi the potential is very real, why risk it? They are being more careful with the cloning genetics work because of the potentials for misuse and harm there so why not restrict the risk with AI – it is a scary prospect!

    • Summer Grant

      I really hope they are being careful. I don’t see the point in taking the risk either, it strikes as creating technology or the sake of creating technology, we don’t need it.

  • beckyday6

    Ha! Your totally right, it does look like Casper 😛 This is interesting, so thanks for posting 🙂 I’ve never really been into the whole robot idea, like you, I find it kinda creepy. :S
    Also, I’ve been meaning to ask for a while, is Summer actually your real name? If you don’t mind me asking haha, because I always just refer to you as anyonething 😛

  • El Guapo

    Good luck convincing the rest of the world.
    It might also be the fault of the movies that people are trying this. I’ve read that a whole bunch of tech was inspired by tv/movies, like the Star Trek sliding doors…

    On the other hand, if I can get a 4 day work week off the deal while my robot minions do the work, I doubt I’d complain…

    • Summer Grant

      I’d need a lot of luck to convince everyone, and I can;t even claim that I’m not into technology, I can’t go anywere without my iPod. Yeah I think that as well, if robots werenit so heavily depicted I don’t think scientists would be rushing to create them. Haha, I guess they’ll have their uses when they come about!

Leave a Reply

