Which Superpower Would you Have?

Would you rather be able to read other people’s minds, or live forever?

Ah this is a very tough choice, but it all depends on the conditions I suppose.

As a journalist being able to read minds could be incredibly handy, but if my powers became wide-spread knowledge there would be some sort of inquiry about it and if that happened I’d been thrown flat-out on my arse with a shattered reputation and a constant mental narrative that would make me unemployable.

Of course I’d use it for good journalism, not some crappy little gossip magazine but then I suppose reading a person’s mind would be a major infringement upon their privacy, I mean your mind is supposed to be your sanctuary after all.

Yet if it’s the sort of power like Buffy gets where she can’t turn it off and all she can hear is an incoherent babble that pounds against her ever increasingly fragile mind then thank you but no thank you. I wouldn’t want to go about and discover everyone’s deepest darkest secrets or discovering what people actually think about me, I have no interest in that, it would be horrid. I would much prefer to be left ignorant. It would do more harm than good to everyone involved.

However, if I could turn it on and off and be able to control the flow much like a tap does with water my interest would be piqued. Like I said it would really help a journalist especially if the interviewee in question was one of those really difficult ones that aren’t particularly forthcoming.

But I’m not sure I could handle the responsibility of delving into other people’s minds and I’m not sure I even want to try, it would be too tempting, much too tempting indeed.

Yet, I have no interest whatsoever in living forever. Immortality would make life pointless.

The whole point of life is to live it to the full because you don’t know when it’s going to end. Yet if you have eternity and you’ve already done everything you could ever possibly do wouldn’t it be boring?

You wouldn’t even have your family and friend’ to pass the time with. I mean it might be a bit odd hanging out with your great great great great great great great great great great granddaughter and her friends for the day.

It’d be a very lonely life.

No, these superpowers are a bit of a double-edged sword so I’d prefer not to take either of them. Yet if flying had been one of those options this would have been a very different blog…

5 responses to “Which Superpower Would you Have?

  • beckyday6

    I’ve always been drawn to the reading people’s mind power as well. But I would only have if it could be switched on and off, like you said!
    I suppose the power to heal people would be pretty worthehile as well. Or maybe to be able to speak to animals and nature, a bit like the Elves or Gandelf 🙂

  • chattingwithspirit

    I missed writing about this because of the flu! I might put this topic idea into my ‘to do’ file for later.
    Yes, superpowers as you put, all sound great, on the face of it, doesn’t it? But, like you so wisely say, what a massive responsibility and, also, how dreadful, sometimes, to know what people are really thinking, rather than what they want you to think they are thinking, which I am sure is generally more palatable. Hmmmm … def prefer the ignorance is bliss stance on this one! 🙂

  • summum1967

    I am reading your mind right now … and a cup of tea would be most welcome thank you very much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

