Taking Advantage of the Sick, they Should be Ashamed.

Oh dear. Religion is always tricky territory because you have no idea who you might offend and while I don’t dislike all religious people I do dislike the arrogance that seems to align itself with the church.

I’m sure all religious systems attempt to do their best by the people but sometimes I feel it goes a bit too far. It has been discovered that churches throughout Britain have been claiming that they can heal HIV using the power of god, as a result people stop taking their medication and so far six people have died.

One pastor claimed that they have a 100% success rate when it comes to healing HIV (which is basically a pastor standing over the infirm and spraying water in their face while shouting for the devil to abandon the victim’s body) and is adamant that persisting symptoms are merely a sign that the illness is leaving you.

The fact that some people can be so blinded to the harm that they might be causing is astounding. Now I don’t know much about the bible or christianity or religion as a whole but I thought it was an accepted fact that god doesn’t tip his hand, if he were to get involved with the goings on with the world it’s on the sly, so why would he provide powers on demand?

Sometimes I feel like the church is too certain of its supremacy and to claim that they can play god is a bit blasphemous. Their stubbornness is harmful, although I expect that these people involved would say otherwise.

It just annoys me that some people can be so casual about another’s health, I’d say they were naive if they weren’t so good at scamming people (again I stress that I speak only of those individuals and not everyone who follows a religion).

 

2 responses to “Taking Advantage of the Sick, they Should be Ashamed.

  • chattingwithspirit

    I thought you did a really good post on this very tricky subject.

    It is such a dreadful shame that the very few spoil the organisations that are attached to, for the many. How any pastor can actually suggest that he is capable of healing HIV is beyond me. He is a not a good ambassador for any religion.

    As a spiritually aware person I do firmly believe in spiritual healing, and have first hand experience of the fantastic outcome from a healer.

    However, all the healers I know always, but always, recommend that no form of standard medicine is withdrawn as healing should never be a replacement therapy and should be seen an addition.

  • Summer Grant

    Thanks, I was a bit anxious about it. And I sgreee with you, any pastory who suggests they can cure such a serious illness is not fit to represent their religion.

    My mum does a lot of spiritual stuff and whenever I’m in pain she sometimes trys out spiritual healing but she make sure I’ve taken pain killers or as well, it does work but I don’t think it could work on something so big by itself…either way, I’m never without my amethyst!

Leave a Reply

