Amanda Knox: Conviction Overruled.

Amanda Knox and her ex-boyfriend Raffaele Sollecito were on trial for the murder of their friend and roommate Meredith Kercher. They were found guilty.

But they appealed and yesterday the court and jury found them innocent. Knox visibly broke down in tears when their innocence was proclaimed.

I have an opinion about a lot of things, but I just don’t know what the think about this case. It’s been in the public eye for four years and over that time Knox and Sollecito have changed their stories and their DNA had been found on the murder weapon and the clasp of Kercher’s bra.

But something went wrong with the evidence, I don’t think it was handled properly which cast doubt over the accusations against the pair.

When the case was first brought to my attention I immediately thought they were guilty, I know it’s not right to judge people straight away but I bet I’m not the only person who always jumps to that conclusion. But why would they kill a friend? I know that this question sounds naive, I know that there are people out there who have done a lot worse but I just don’t get why someone would kill a friend.

Yesterday Knox gave one last speech to appeal for her freedom saying that she wanted  go back to her life. Now I might not know what to think about the ruling but I do know what I think about her life.

It won’t be there. She’s just spent the last four years of her life in the centre of a high-profile case, one that spans three countries. She will always be suspected, there will always be people convinced of her guilt and life is not going to be easy for her.

It will never be normal again. People who don’t know her will always judge her by the past four years and if I’m completely honest if I found out that she had moved near me to escape the media and people who might threaten her I’m not entirely sure I would welcome her to the neighbourhood.

She’s always going to have to suffer the stigma that has been placed around her and is that really much of a life? It’s probably better than spending it in prison but I hope she has prepared herself for what is to come.

And she might very well be innocent (like I said I don’t know what I think on that matter) but I’m also going to spare a thought for the Kercher family. They lost a daughter and a sister, no matter what happened in that court yesterday there would still be that hole left in their hearts when she died, not only might they be lacking closure with the outcome but the media are focusing more on Knox herself than the crime she has been accused of. It is almost as if what happened to Kercher has just become a little tid bit to add in to fill up the word count.

But whatever happens I hope they can find closure and that maybe, hopefully, they can come to terms with the outcome of the trial and accept the fact that there’s the possibility the Knox is not the one responsible for the death of Meredith Kercher.

Leave a Reply

