Third Year Is Terrifying.

So I headed back to uni today, just for an hour and a half long meeting. In which the year was outlined. To me it sounded a lot like misery and hard work.

Don’t get me wrong I love uni, but there’s so much to be done this year, including my 8,000 to 10,000 word major project.

Sigh.

Anyway I start on Tuesday, my third and final year kicks off with the amazing and wonderful world of Ethics and the Magazine Journalist…..we’ve been assured that this contains philosophical debates and analysis of images and I’m guessing a couple of essays where I ramble on without a clue of what I’m talking about.

However, quite ridiculously I’m looking forward to starting my major project. Instead of doing a theoretical dissertation I have opted for writing for a magazine. There are two options for this:

  1. Choose a magazine you like and know well and write articles for them
  2. Make up your own publication and write articles for it

Guess which one I chose.

I mean it has to be one right? Only a fool, a sucker for punishment would choose the latter. Think of the amount of research you need to do for it. Come up with a name, decide the demographic, think of the copy that would appear in it…..

Well, it seems I am a fool. I am a sucker for punishment because I did choose the latter…..before I even started uni!!! And by that I mean when I was in college. I went to an open day, saw that we had a choice for major project and have been hovering along the same lines for the past three years.

So far I have this idea. The magazine will focus on independent stuff. For example music, authors and photographers. If there’s a writer out there who need some experience but can’t actually afford to get there (my problem) they can confer over email and send their article in, a bit of free-lance and they’ll be rewarded with their name in print. The same can be done for photographers.

And the only other thing I have in mind is calling it Unsigned. I need to sort everything else out. But I think it’s original, I think there’s a gap in the market for it. The only problem I’ll face is getting interviews for it.

Guess I’ll just have to cross that bridge when I come to it.

So today was just a meeting and I already feel like I’m bogged down with work. It’s time to knuckle down and get on with it. I’m sure it’ll be a lot of fun…apart from the Ethics unit….

Leave a Reply

