Inspiration

It can be a very hard thing to come across but also very easy.

Alas the former is true for me today. So with irony of irony my inspiration has come from a lack of.

I didn’t know what to write for a blog post today…so I decided to write about not knowing. I mean, it can be kind of difficult and even though The Daily Post is kind enough to drop prompts off in my inbox I still draw a blank..

So I sat down at my desk which is littered with stuff. There’s my camera, a couple of pens, a tiny notebook, some CDs that are to be reviewed and also a cluster of amethyst.

It’s very shiny and it’s also very useful. I like crystals, not just because they tend to be beautiful, but because I believe in their properties. Amethyst, for example, is good at getting you thinking, it’s good at keeping your creativity flowing. It’s good at other stuff as well but they don’t really explain why I have it perched on my desk.

In all honesty I have no idea why I’m writing about it at all, it’s just the most unusual thing in front of me. I was looking around and it drew my eye. And really, this is the best you can hope for when inspiration refuses to strike and fill you with such an inexplicable force of creativity that you have no choice but pick a pen and scribble something down or get to your computer and type furiously.

Anything usually sparks it for me. Walking up the stairs was how my initial thought for my first series sprang into my head. But it has been such a long time since I’ve been overwhelmed with inspiration but I usually I manage to write something down, be it a blog, an essay or a couple of fictional paragraphs.

Today however has been pretty bad for writing. Although, saying that, now that I’ve started this post I want to keep on writing. My much larger notebook is on a chair beside me with my favourite pen lying perfectly stationary atop it (yes I have a favourite pen and yes I did just slip in a terrible pun), both of which are tempting me.

So I must bid you farewell for tonight, my imagination is now calling to me and I have a feeling that I will be spending the rest of the night in the depths of my story. Where I’m headed might not be clear but I’ll just muddle along and I know that I’ll get there eventually.

2 responses to “Inspiration

Leave a Reply

