Learning From The People You Know

I have this friend. We went to senior school and college together. We didn’t really start speaking to each other until college but we treated each other like we had always spoken. And we don’t speak that much now that we’ve gone our separate ways.

But I’m sure that no matter what happens she will never change for the worse. She’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. She never has a bad word to say about anyone and you’d never catch her being two-faced. She never expects bad things of people and is always surprised when they don’t meet her expectations

I have another friend, my best friend in fact. We’ve known each other since school, went to college together and now we go to the same university. She too never has a bad word to say and she finds enjoyment from the simplest of things.

On occasion she might lack an opinion and sit on the fence rather a lot but she often has unusual insights into certain situations that help a lot more than she might think.

And then there’s another friend, whom I met at college, and she’s one of the funniest people I know. She can turn anything into a joke. She has some brilliant ideas and I have no doubt that she’ll achieve whatever she wants in life.

I’m sure all three of them have some unsavoury traits, after all everyone does, but they don’t let them rule their personality, and one thing is for sure they aren’t ugly people.

I’m proud to know these people and they’ve all impacted me in some way, whether it’s to not assume the worst in people or to take an unusual angle on something or to see the funny side to things.

I hope, that somehow I’ve been able to return the favour, that somehow I might have been able to make an impact on their lives. But I doubt it.

Everybody needs people like these in their life at some point. And I really hope you’ve learnt from them like I’ve learnt from my friends.

One response to “Learning From The People You Know

Leave a Reply

