Humour Is Kind Of Difficult!

One of my hobbies, aside from reading and complaining, is writing. Which explains the frequency with which I spam my blog with new posts.

That’s why I’m studying to be a journalist. I just can’t picture myself doing a job that doesn’t involve writing.

But damn it! It’s hard to write something funny.

A few of my dismal attempts are scattered throughout my blog (I probably shouldn’t admit to that in case you didn’t notice the first time round). I try to add it in my creative writing but it seems a little forced to me. For example:

 “You do know you’ve been walking in circles don’t you?” he asked, one eyebrow raised. I imagined a small blush rising to my cheeks. 

 “It’s not intentional, I assure you,” I mumbled. As I spoke I twisted my hips so I could look around, a quick twinge and a gasp of pain had me subtly clutching my side, which he noticed.

 “What are you doing here? Hiding in a tree seems slightly suspicious,” It was a vague attempt to draw attention away from myself.

 “Simply doing the same as you.”

 “What? Walking in circles,” I smiled.

I’m not exactly sure it works, but I’ve kind of grown used to it so in my mind it does. Unless I think about it too much and I think it’s a bit stupid.

I’ve got depressing down, I can manage action a little but humour forever stumps me. Which isn’t particularly useful when my lecturers often say ‘to write a good article you need to inject a little humour’.

Well, easier said than done. What if I say something that could be sort of funny but also misunderstood? It’s not like I can put a sticky out tongue at the end of the sentence and hope that everything will be alright.

It’s not like I’m a boring person, at least I hope I’m not, I think it’s just something I need to work on. I don’t want to be a comedian or anything, but it would be nice if my work and my writing were sufficiently entertaining.

The problem with working on it is that I only have a couple of people to test it out on and in my opinion humour needs a broader audience because it has to be one of the trickiest things.

Honestly, I have no idea how some people do it. Well, for starters I suppose they probably get on with it instead of writing a blog post.

What things do you find difficult to write?

Leave a Reply

