Nadia Stafford…Back For More?

So, do you remember that author I spoke about a while ago, Kelley Armstrong. She wrote The Women of the Otherworld. Well she also started another series about a woman called Nadia Stafford.

There’s nothing supernatural about it. In fact, the protagonist is perfectly normal. Except for the fact that she’s a cop turned hit woman…

I think it has the same formula, the woman is in charge, there’s a crime to be solved and a man who’s very much the apple of her eye (well sort of, their relationship is kind of weird).

When I was reading the first novel (Exit Strategy) with this character I was so unbelievably bored! Nothing seemed to happen and when it did it kind of went by unnoticed, or at least that’s what I thought.

I carried on simply because I’d feel bad otherwise. Kelley Armstrong is one of the best writers I’ve come across and I wouldn’t be much of a fan if I gave up.

But its sequel (Made To Be Broken) came out three years ago…I couldn’t put it down. I understood Nadia more as a character and the story was by far better than that of the first one. Or at least I think it was.

The reason I keep saying ‘I think’ is because I haven’t read Exit Strategy since it came out in 2007. So there’s a very, very good chance that most of the details have slipped from my memory.

I should probably give it another read, to jog my memory and I’ll probably understand it a bit more. But with the second book I’ve realised just how good of a story it is. The characteristics of each character are more subtle and I’m really hoping a third one will be released.

It’s also nice to read something that’s nothing to do with her usual stuff. As much as her other series is completely awesome I’m glad she’s proved that she’s got something else up her sleeve.

The only problem is, I don’t think she’s actually signed up to write a third Nadia Stafford novel. I think there’s so much left to figure out about Nadia and her life as a hit woman and lots to find out about her mysterious mentor Jack.

I’ll keep my fingers crossed, but I don’t hold out much hope. Considering how much I just didn’t enjoy the first one I’m a little surprised at how much I want a third. 

But, whatever will be, will be.

Leave a Reply

