Vampires Are Really Starting To Piss Me Off.

Okay, so from an earlier post you’ll probably know where I stand on the whole Twilight farce. But the thing that annoys me the most is that Meyer has destroyed the credibility of one of horror’s and mythology’s most feared and dangerous creatures.

Way before I read Twilight and way before it exploded I started writing a book. And yes it has vampires in it, properly evil vampires that would rip out your throat as soon as looking at you.

I’ve always been fascinated by them, not in an obsessed ‘oh my god I want to be one’ sort of way just a ‘they’re kind of cool despite the fact that if they were real they’d kill me’ way. I mean there’s this book in Waterstone’s that I’ve had my eye on for a while. It’s an encyclepedia of vampires and I want it mainly because my knowledge on them is pretty limited.

Their mythology is always awesome and I think that they’re definitely one of the most evil things created in literature, and they’ve constantly evolved.

Bram Stoker made an almost perfect villain with the daylight fearing, mirror avoiding Dracula and so many people have been adding their own little quirks to the creature.

Anne Rice came along and made it a crime for vampires to kill another vampire (the film was the first I heard of this, sadly I haven’t managed to read the books yet). Kelley Armstrong then added the fact that vampires only need to kill once a year to survive and actually gave them an expiry date too.

Joss Whedon then created Buffy which came complete with this whole history concerning slayers and how it’s their destiny to kill vampires. The whole concept of a vampire with a soul flared up too.

And then Meyer came along, took away the fear of sunlight and (almost) took away their thirst for blood. She stripped them of all their formidable mystique, took away everything that made them great.

And is if to add insult to injury she made them sparkle. Yeah, sparkle. I mean what the hell does that do for them. They only sparkle in the daylight so it’s not even like they could light a dark room up for anyone.

Now the only reason I can think of for this is that she has a fascination for glitter like the fascination I have for vampires. 

Because of her I am ashamed to say that I’m writing something that includes vampires. Because of her I refuse to watch True Blood and all the other vampire centric stuff that is about.

I started this book before the bandwagon came rolling about and now I’m tempted to give it up because I’m loath to jump on it as it trundles past.

Thankfully I’ve got a few other ideas that I’m working on. But the story with the vampires in it was the first thing I was properly passionate about. I enjoyed writing stuff for the characters and a background for the whole story.

And I know I shouldn’t give a damn about what people might think…but my worst nightmare would be getting compared to Meyer. I’d consider it an insult considering she doesn’t understand the first thing about plots… or decent characters…or vampires for that matter.

Anyway, I’m kind of hoping that the hype about vampires will die down soon, I’m actually really starting to get sick of them.

 

 

6 responses to “Vampires Are Really Starting To Piss Me Off.

  • H.E. ELLIS

    I think the reading world will always want to read about vampires. What I think they are growing tired of is the teen/vampire romance angle. I wonder if the literary world is just waiting for a real badass vampire tale. I say go for it.

  • Bek Harrington

    How can I say this diplomatically? Twilight is what it is….perfect for hormone filled teenage girls. It in no way represents vampire literature and no author should be compared to Meyer. Let’s face it, if you write as poorly as Meyer you probably won’t get published. Hmm, maybe not quite so diplomatic.

    Anyway, folks have been writing about vampires for years and I’m sure will continue to do so. Twilight is just the most recent in a long line of fads. Fads come and go, vampires are forever.

    As an author who writes exclusively about vampires, I really don’t pay much attention to how other authors portray vampires. My vampires are unique, they are my creation and will be judged on their own qualities. Not some arbitrary benchmark of what vampires should or shouldn’t be.

    To you I say, write your story. Write your vampires they way YOU want them to be. Maybe you will redefine the genre, but you will never know if you don’t try.

    Also one piece of advice about writing: Writing is a craft, words are your tools..learn how to use them.

    Best of luck with the wriiting.

  • summer119

    Thank you for your comment and the encouragement. I am glad that I’m not the only one who thinks Meyer is such a poor writer.Thank you for you advice too, I do appreciate it. I understand what you mean about writing.

    My blog does tend to be a little rough around the edges, but when it comes to my book and my university work my writing is more refined. I’d be very interested in reading your work.

    Thank you again.

  • Books I have read in the last week… « Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

    […] Vampires Are Really Starting To Piss Me Off. (anyonething.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

